Follow Slashdot blog updates by subscribing to our blog RSS feed


Forgot your password?

Slashdot videos: Now with more Slashdot!

  • View

  • Discuss

  • Share

We've improved Slashdot's video section; now you can view our video interviews, product close-ups and site visits with all the usual Slashdot options to comment, share, etc. No more walled garden! It's a work in progress -- we hope you'll check it out (Learn more about the recent updates).


+ - Five Internet Founders Share first £1 Million Engineering 'Nobel' Prize ->

Submitted by
judgecorp writes "The first Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering, worth £1 million, has been shared by five founders of the Internet and the World Wide Web. As well as Sir Tim Berners Lee and Vint Cerf, the other recpients are Cerf's colleague Bob Kahn, creator of the Mosaic browser Marc Andreeseen, and a much less well known Frenchman, Louis Pouzin, aged 82. Working at Bell Labs, Pouzin invented the datagram protocols on which Cerf and Kahn based the TCP/IP protocols. The judges originally planned the prize for a maximum of three winners, but that had to change, thanks to the collaborative nature of the Internet. All the recipients praised their colleagues and pointed out that engineering is always a team effort “Fortunately we are still alive," joked Pouzin. “It is forty years since we did the things for which we are being honoured.” Awarded in the UK, the prize is an international effort to create an engineering counterpart to the Nobels. The judgesconsidered entries from 65 countries."
Link to Original Source
This discussion was created for logged-in users only, but now has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Five Internet Founders Share first £1 Million Engineering 'Nobel' Prize

Comments Filter:

Put your best foot forward. Or just call in and say you're sick.